dr.vichitra@yahoo.co.in +91 981 127 0631


PRANAYAMA - ‘Parana’ breath, "Ayama", to give direction, to restrain or stop i.e. to control of the life force by controlling the normal breathing cycle. Evils are destroyed by Pranayama.It is essential for purification of mind and body. Pran is not only the air; it is the vital energy in the air which makes us alive.

- For living we need, FOOD , WATER & AIR.

- Expulsion of waist product, Toxins – STOOLS , URINE , PERSPIRATION & AIR.

i) Stools we pass once or twice a day so it is least important.

ii) URINE we pass 6-10 times per day. Little more important than Stools.

iii) PERSPIRATION is a twenty four hours process from the skin which is the biggest  organ of  the body and more important than urination .

iv) AIR is also 24 hour’s inhalation and exhalation process. Maximum

purification is done by air i.e respiration . It can cause physical & mental

purification .Therefore in Yoga  we give maximum importance to


- Do accurate posture physically. Feel with concentration on the affected body parts.  With inhalation which carry oxygen, environmental energy to the exact locations. Then exhale with coming to normal position. It will help to remove toxins, excessive deposition from the affected body organs.

a)    Pranayam  includes controlling the inhalation (Poorak), Exhalation (Rachak) and stopping of breathing (Kumbhak). Three types of Kumbhak are Antrik Kumbhak , Bhaia Kumbhak & Madhya Kumbhak.

b)    There are four types of breathing ;

i)             Chest Breathing .

ii)            Abdomen breathing .

iii)           Chest Abdomen Breathing

iv)           Abdomen chest breathing

c)    Subdivision of Pran Vayu;                                                                 

i)Prana vayu; pervades the region from throat to the heart. It helps in the downward flow of breath.                                                               

ii)Apana Vayu; located below the naval region. It strengthens the large intestine and helps in the expulsion of wastes like urine and stools.                                                                                           

iii) Samana Vayu; It pervades the region between the heart and the naval. It controls the digestive organs .                                                                                                      iv) Udana Vayu; pervades the region from the throat to the brain. It controls sense organs & brain .                             

v) Vyan Vayu;  pervades the entire human body . It coordinates all the  Vayus and other centers of energy & the extremities which keeps proper balance of the body.

Controlling the flow of pran vayu  from nadis ,Ida and Pingla i.e. breathe through left & right nostrils.

The flow of pran vayu through the left nostril is done by IDA OR CHANDRA NADI which gives the cool effect and control the left side of the body. It carries the energy of caring , love , devotion, inspiration and emotion.It controls the thoughts. It gives the BHAKTI YOG  Quality . When it is disrupted  or out of balance people become extreem emotional , Psychic  sensitive ,suffer from insomnia, fears , nightmares.   If uniformed , it Removes the anxiety, nervousness, Hurry ness, Restlessness, Stress, Hyperactvity  in children etc. It gives the calmness , quietness , relaxation. 

The flow of Prana Vayu through the right nostril is done by the PINGLA OR SURYA NADI which provides the heat effect and controls the right side of the body . It governs motivation, ambition, will power, and desire for deeper spiritual knowledge. It creates the tendency towards GYAN YOG OR RAJ YOG. An imbalanced  PINGLA NADI creates the tendency to anger , excess ambition , egoistic ,and self centered behavior .It removes the dullness, sadness, To activate the mind and body.

In Paralysis to activates the nervous system. Hemiplegia Right side of the body , breathing through left nostril while concentrating on left hemisphere of the brain . Hemiplegia left side of the body , breathing through right nostril while concentrating on right Hemisphere of the brain.

     The flow of the Pran Vayu through these two NADIES meets in the body , SUSHUMNA NADI is supposed to exist there . This is the central canal having the neutral effect; it controls and balances the other two NADIS. SUSHUMNA NADI provides light and knowledge  giving SATVIK GUNA. It is also called SARSWATI OR SHAKTI NADISUSHUMNA NADI descend down to turn into MANOVAHINI NADI  which is situated behind sternum near heart. This is to be concentrated at the time of PRAYER position at the time of meditation to control MAN (mind).

      Pranayam is to effect the proper balance between IDA and PINGLA and to gain spiritual upliftment through the attainment of light and knowledge from the SUSHUMNA NADI.

You have to learn BANDHS ( Jalandar Bandh , Udyaan Bandh and Mool Bandh )  to do pranayams.


1.    Relaxed Chest Breathing

2.    Relaxed Abdomen Breathing

3.    Yogic Breathing

a)    Relaxed Chest Abdomen Breathing

b)    Relaxed Abdomen Chest Breathing

4      Surya Bhastrika Pranayam

5      Surya Kapalbhati Pranayam

6      Surya Bhedi Pranayam

7      Surya Anulaom Pranayam

8      Chandra Bhastrika Pranayam

9      Chandra Kapalbhati Pranayam

10   Chandrabhedi Pranayam

11   Chandra Anulom Pranayam

12    Anulom Vilom Pranayam

13    Swachalit Anulom Vilom Pranayam  ------------

14    Narishodhan Pranayam

15    Sheetli Pranayam

16    Sheetkari Pranayam

17    Bhastrika Pranayam

a)    Nasal Bhastrika Pranayam

b)    Chest Bhastrika Pranayam

c)    Abdomen Bhastrika Pranayam

   18   Kapalbhati Pranayam

a)    Nasal Kaplabhati Pranayam

b)    Chest Kapalbhati Pranayam

c)    Abdomen Kapalbhati Pranayam

d)    Deep Abdomen Kapalbhati Pranayam

   19  Vilom Kapalbhati Pranayam    ------------------

   20  Ujjayee Pranayam

a)    Vishuddhi Chakra Ujjayee Pranayam

i)             Slow Continuous

ii)            Fast Rhythm

b)    Agya Chakra Ujjayee Pranayam

i)             Slow Continuous

ii)            Fast Rhythm

   21  Bhramri Pranayam

a)    Sahastra Chakra Bhramri Pranayam

b)    Agya Chakra Bhramri Pranayam

c)    Vishudhi Chakra Bhramri Pranayam

   22   Bhahiya Pranayam / Tribhandh Mudra

   23   Udgeet Pranayam  is the Chanting of OM in different ways.

   24  Angshaki Vikasak Pranayam

25   Sahastra Chakra Bhedi Pranayam

26   Sahastra Chakra Bhastrika

27   Sahastra Chakra Kaplabhati

28   Agya Chakrabhedi Pranayam

29   Agya Chakra Bhastrika

30   Agya Chakra Kapalbhati

31   Vishuddhi Chakra Bhedi Pranayam

32   Vishuddhi Chakra Bhastrika

33   Vishuddhi Chakra Kaplabhati

34   Anahat Chakrabhedi Pranayam

35   Anahat Chakra Bhastrika

36   Anahat Chakra Kapalbhati

37   Manipurak Chakra Bhedi Pranayam

38   Manipurak  Chakra Bhastrika

39   Manipurak Chakra Kaplabhati

40   Swadishthan Chakrabhedi Pranayam

41   Swadishthan Chakra Bhastrika

42   Swadishthan Chakra Kapalbhati

43   Mooladhar  Chakra Bhedi Pranayam

44   Mooladhar Chakra Bhastrika

45   Mooladhar Chakra Kaplabhati

46   Relaxed Eyes Concentration Breathing

   47 Relaxed Forehead Concentration Breathing

   48 Relaxed Brain concentration Breathing

   49 Relaxed Midbrain& Pituitary Gland Concentration Breathing

   50 Relaxed Spinal & Nervous System Concentration breathing

        above downwards

   51 Relaxed Chakras Concentration breathing below upwards

   52 Moorchhit Pranayam